Ryan Sessegnon
Ryan Sessegnon / GETTY IMAGES

Fulham’s Ryan Sessegnon has won Championship Player of the Season and Young Player of the Season at the EFL awards.

Sessegnon claimed five awards on the night, including the prize for Apprentice of the Year as well as being named in the Team of the Season and Club Developed XI.

The 17-year-old Fulham winger beat team-mate Tom Cairney and Wolves’ Ruben Neves to the Player of the Season award.

Sessegnon, who has scored 14 goals in 39 Championship games this season, has also been nominated for the PFA Young Player of the year – the first player from outside the top flight to be on the shortlist.

“I never expected to win Young Player or Player of the Season because there is some fantastic competition – Ruben Neves at Wolves, James Maddison at Norwich and Tom Cairney here at Fulham,” Sessegnon said. “To win those two awards is a special feeling.”

Bradley Dack
Blackburn’s Bradley Dack won League One Player of the Season
Blackburn’s Bradley Dack won League One Player of the Season / SKYSPORT

Blackburn midfielder Bradley Dack, who has scored 16 goals this season, lifted the League One Player of the Season award, ahead of Peterborough’s Jack Marriott and Wigan midfielder Nick Powell.

Accrington Stanley striker Billy Kee won League Two Player of the Season. Kee is the league’s top scorer with 22 goals this season.

Mitre Goal of the Season went to Luton Town’s Olly Lee for his strike from his own half against Cambridge United.


Rickie Lambert was presented with the prestigious Sir Tom Finney Award in recognition of his 18-year career in football, which saw him play more than 600 games across all four divisions as well as earning an England call-up.

Derby County were named Community Club of the Year, while Blackburn Rovers won Family Club of the Year. The Supporter of the Year award was given Mustafa El-Bayati in recognition of his unwavering support of Northampton Town.

QPR won the Special Project Award to honour their efforts in organising last year’s #Game4Grenfell.

Commentator John Motson was recognised with the Contribution to League Football accolade in honour of his 50 years of service to commentary and broadcasting.